< Back to latest news & events

Event

Webinar: Validation of a European Patent as a Unitary Patent

July 2022

Join HGF for a free webinar to discuss Validation of a European Patent as a Unitary Patent.

Date

25th July, 2022

Time

Session 1 – 7:00 (BST) / 8:00 (CEST) / 15:00 (JST)

OR

Session 2 – 15:30 (BST) / 16:30 (CEST) / 10:30 (EDT)

About the webinar

In the near future, when validating a European patent (EP), patent proprietors will be able to choose to file a request for unitary effect and obtain – in a single and straightforward procedure carried out centrally by the EPO – a Unitary Patent (UP) providing uniform protection in all participating Member States. The EPO has already announced its own “Transitional Measures” for supporting users in an early uptake of the Unitary Patent.

This session will look at the practicalities of validation as a UP, including time scales and costs, together with some reasons why a UP may not be an option for some EPs. We will also cover the strategic considerations for clients when advising on UPs versus national applications and “classic” EPs, as well as options for double patenting.

Watch the webinar below:

Speakers

Dr Jennifer Uno – Partner & Patent Attorney

Dr Markus Zoller – Partner & Patent Attorney

Latest updates

Go:Tech Awards 2024 shortlist has been revealed

The shortlist has now been revealed for the Go:Tech 2024 awards, which will take place on the 20th June in London. We are delighted to be sponsoring the ‘Tech Start-Up …

Read article

HGF wins big at the Managing IP EMEA Awards Ceremony 2024

The Annual Managing IP Awards: EMEA Awards 2024 were announced last night, and HGF are proud to have won ‘Ireland Patent Prosecution Firm of the Year and ‘Netherlands Trademark Prosecution …

Read article

IP Ingredients, Part 11: Exploring colours in the food & drink sector – a patent perspective

As the saying goes, “We eat first with our eyes”. The visual appearance, especially the colour, of a food or beverage product is one of the first things that a …

Read article

Digital Health in 2023: Exploring Europe's Patent Innovations

The EPO recently published its 2023 Patent Index and there is, as seen in 2022, further increased patenting activity in key technologies relevant to the healthcare sector. Spurred by the …

Read article
Event - 8th, 22nd February 2024

Dresden & Salzburg Seminar: Basics of trade mark protection - National and European perspectives

HGF is pleased to invite you to our upcoming German speaking seminar on “Fundamentals of trade mark protection: National and European Perspectives” in Salzburg and Dresden. The seminar will cover …

Event details

INTA 2024 Panel Session: IP & Innovation | Green Marks

Our Trade Mark Director Adjoa Anim will be part of an insightful panel session by the Unfair Competition Committee around green brands at INTA Atlanta on Monday 20th May 2024. …

Read article