< Back to latest news & events

Event

Webinar: Litigating in the Unified Patent Court

October 2022

Event date: 25th October 2022

HGF hosted a webinar on 25th October to discuss ‘Litigating in the Unified Patent Court’.

Date

25th October, 2022

Time

Session 1 – 7:00 (BST) / 8:00 (CEST) / 15:00 (JST)

OR

Session 2 – 15:00 (BST) / 16:00 (CEST) / 10:00 (EDT)

About the webinar

The UPC is expected to open its doors in Q1/Q2 2023 and many businesses are already planning for actions before the new patent Court. This will be the biggest change in European patent litigation for a generation and is predicted to become the jurisdiction of choice in the European Union within 3-5 years.

Join us for an overview of how the new supranational Court system will work and the anticipated effect on existing European patents and the new unitary patent.

This seminar is the fourth in the HGF UPC series and will look at what provisional and protective measures will be available, the jurisdiction of the UPC, and what actions before the UPC will encompass. We will also look at how UPC litigation will work in parallel with litigation in national courts and EPO oppositions during the 7 year transitional phase.

Watch the webinar below:
Speakers

Rachel Fetches – Partner and Head of Law

Dr Achim Krebs – Partner and Patent Attorney

Latest updates

PRESS RELEASE - HGF Appoints new Chair of the Board: Formerly Head of Engineering, Lucy Johnson

HGF announced a new Chair to its Management Board, Lucy Johnson. Lucy was previously head of the firm’s Engineering Group.  Effective immediately Lucy succeeds Jason Lumber who held the position …

Read article

Celebrating Success in the Pharmaceuticals Industry: Jazz Pharmaceuticals Enters Deal With Redx

HGF would like to congratulate Redx Pharmaceuticals on their recent deal with Jazz Pharmaceuticals concerning the global rights to Redx’s KRAS Inhibitor Program. This partnership has the potential to provide …

Read article

What's Next for CAR Cell Therapy?

The first generation CAR T cell was discovered in 1993 when the variable region of an antibody was fused to the constant regions of a T cell receptor.  Now, 20 …

Read article

Blog Series: IP Ingredients, Part 7: Data in food and beverage patent applications - Why, What & How much?

Questions I often get asked by innovators looking to file a patent application include: “What kind of experimental data do I need to include?” and “How many examples do we …

Read article

HGF ranked in The Legal 500 Germany 2024

HGF is proud to be ranked in The Legal 500 Germany 2024 guide. The Legal 500 provides the most comprehensive worldwide coverage on recommended Law firms, Lawyers, Attorneys, Advocates, Solicitors, …

Read article

EPO Annual Fee Increases

The European Patent Office (EPO) has announced that revised Official Fees will apply to payments made on or after Monday 1st April 2024. The majority of fees will increase by …

Read article

Tanya Waller Recognised as Lexology Legal Influencer for IP

We are delighted to share that our Trade Mark Director Tanya Waller has been recognised as a Lexology Legal influencer for Q4/2023! Tanya provides high-quality legal content for our website …

Read article