< Back to latest news & events

Event

Webinar: Developing effective patent strategies for personalised medical devices in Europe and the US

May 2021

Event date: 9th June 2021

HGF in Europe and Knobbe Martens in the US are holding a joint webinar on 9th June.

In this webinar we will explore considerations for implementing an effective strategy to secure patent protection for personalised medical devices, and to steer through a potentially crowded competitive landscape, with a particular focus on comparing the European and US jurisdictions.

The emergence of new platform technologies directed to patient-specific healthcare solutions has led to significant investment and R&D associated with personalised medical devices. In order to protect their technological innovations, many companies are striving to strategically develop global patent portfolios that support the commercialisation of their products and which can leverage a dominant commercial position over competitors. As national and regional differences exist between legal provisions that govern intellectual property, it is not always possible to adopt a “one-size-fits-all” approach. A more thorough understanding of these differences is therefore vital when seeking to maximise the scope of protection available to the patent proprietor or to minimise patent infringement risk when commercialising personalised medical devices.

This webinar will cover:

  • an overview of the growth in patent applications for personalised medical devices and examples of patent claims that can protect them;
  • considerations for drafting and prosecuting patent applications directed to personalised medical devices and how these approaches differ between Europe and the US;
  • a case study examining litigation, in the US, of a patent portfolio with claims covering personalised medical devices and how defendants challenged patent validity.

Speakers

Dr Adam Hines, HGF

Christy Lea, Knobbe Martens

Sabing Lee, Knobbe Martens

Date

9th June

Time

4.00 pm (BST)

8.00 am (PT)

10.00 am (CT)

11.00 am (ET)

Attendees

Latest updates

Fashionably IP - podcast exploring hot topics in the world of fashion and intellectual property

We are delighted to launch our new Fashionably IP Podcast were we will be looking at important hot topics in the world of fashion and intellectual property. In the podcast, …

Read article
Event - 24th June 2022

pro-manchester Trailblazing Tech Conference 2022

pro-manchester is hosting their Trailblazing Tech Conference 2022 on Friday 24th June. At this event, speakers and attendees will be discussing developments in fintech and cyber security, analysing the impact …

Event details

HGF ranked Gold in the FT special report – Europe’s Leading Patent Law Firms 2022

HGF has been ranked in the ‘Gold’ and ‘Silver’ bands in The Financial Times special report ‘Europe’s Leading Patent Law Firms’ published on the 16th June 2022. More than 10,000 …

Read article